2014年1月11日 星期六

Maps and pictures of old Tamsui

This map was dated Feb 28, 1899 (明治Meiji year 32), almost 4 years after Japan took over Taiwan:
Source: http://catalog.digitalarchives.tw/item/00/30/df/a2.html
It was based on a map originally from British Admiralty with updated surveys done by IJN Capt 小掠元吉 and engineer 大林正作, and finalized by Capt 小倉寬一[郎], all of whom were attached to HIMS Kaimon [His Imperial Majesty's Ship 海門], a sail-and-steam sloop-of-war:
HIMS Kaimon 海門 (1884-1905)
 A section of the map is shown below:
Source: http://catalog.digitalarchives.tw/item/00/30/df/a3.html
In which, the British Consulate and Ft San Domingo are both clearly marked.

A map of 1925 (below) shows that 滬尾 was now designated 淡水街; on the other hand, 油車口 remained unchanged:
Source: http://catalog.digitalarchives.tw/item/00/30/df/a4.html
Also marked are 砲臺埔, 烽火[街], 郡役所the Town Hall, and 郵便局Post Office; the Post Office, however, appears mislabeled (although it could have been the original location).

A 1908 photo of Tamsui:
Source: http://catalog.digitalarchives.tw/item/00/30/df/a7.html
This photo shows the 媽祖宮 (or 福祐宮, MaZu Temple, center right). In front of the trees, the open area is later known as 三角窗 or 小公園. The Mackay Clinic with its distinct white walls also can be seen. Tamsui Presbyterian Church had not been built yet at that time (not until 1933), it can be seen in the photo below:
Source: http://catalog.digitalarchives.tw/item/00/30/df/ad.html
To the right of the Presbyterian Church in the photo above is 郵便局the Post Office.

Photos of the riverside taken during the Japanese Era are shown below. This was at a time when junks from China were still allowed into Tamsui Port, after the once-largest seaport in Taiwan, that had seen the arrival and departure of giant ocean liners and cargo ships, became defunct:
Source: http://catalog.digitalarchives.tw/item/00/30/df/af.html
Source: http://catalog.digitalarchives.tw/item/00/30/df/a8.html
Source: http://catalog.digitalarchives.tw/item/00/30/df/ac.html

2014年1月10日 星期五

Battle of Fisherman's Wharf in progress

The Battle of Fisherman's Wharf has already been described in detail in this blog, see: http://danshuihistory.blogspot.com/2009/03/blog-post.html

Another scene of the battle is depicted in this painting (artist and date both unknown). The battle started on Oct 8, 1884, first with heavy gun bombardments from French warships [lower right]. Local commander 提督孫開華 was in charge with eight battalions of defense force plus 100 artillery men [upper left]. At 10AM, five companies of French fusiliers marins landed on the beach [loaded landing crafts can be seen approaching the beach] to start the assult: 
Source: http://catalog.digitalarchives.tw/item/00/30/df/a1.html
The light tower [above, top middle], used by the French as a landmark has long since disappeared. It fell into disrepair during the Japanese Colonial rule. In the heydays of the Tamsui Port in the Qing era, the light tower served well but was deemed inadequate during the Japanese rule when large ocean liners visited the port, and a taller, hence more visible one was built next to it.

Here is an old photo (below), structure on the left was the original, one to the right was the new tower, both of which were lost soon after Tamsui ceased to function as a seaport:
Source: http://catalog.digitalarchives.tw/item/00/30/df/a6.html
This photo shows the entrance to the area of the light towers. The tall structure in the background (left) was the new light tower:
Source: http://taipics.com/taipei_danshui.php
The original commercial light tower was the first of its kind in Taiwan, known forever to the locals as 望高樓. A stone tablet recording its purpose, construction and maintenance, and the name list of committee members, dated 嘉慶九年 (1796), can still be seen inside 媽祖宮 the MaZu Temple on Chung Cheng Road today:

2014年1月4日 星期六

Last days of 鄭芝龍

鄭芝龍 (Cheng Chi-long, 1595 [or 1604] - 1661), father of 鄭成功 (aka Koxinga [國姓爺], 1624-1662), had commanded a vast privateer fleet with thousands of ships before accepting the official invitation to become a 都督同知 [equivalent to class-one deputy minister of defense] with the Ming Empire in 1628. He served the Ming Court reasonably well, albeit reluctantly at times, until 1646, when he was tricked by a Manchurian in-law into surrendering to the Qing. He was quickly sent to Beijing, from Hokkien, and kept under house arrest before any rescuing attempts by the Cheng Clan were possible.

It may appear puzzling as to why such a powerful rich-as-a-nation warlord could fall into such an obvious trap; in fact, even the Qing Court was surprised. The reason, usually glossed over or totally ignored by historians, might be the droughts and widespread famine in war-torn China at that time that had rendered it impossible for 鄭芝龍 to maintain his military base - not without resorting to drastic self-preserving measures that would have created even more human misery. This he had apparently chosen not to do. Plus, a lifetime of military actions had already worn him out, which he had also pointed out to Koxinga. Instead, he took the easy way out, against the counsel of his advisers, even the impassioned plea of Koxinga, and perhaps then willingly walked into the ambush in the form of a dinner party on a boat. In the Confusianism tradition, 鄭芝龍 has been regarded unfavorably (unjustly as far as the Cheng Clan is concerned), to be contrasted with his son's "higher" moral calling (see below).

In the ensuing years in Beijing, 鄭芝龍 was used as the pawn in Qing's dealing with Koxinga who, however, steadfastly maintained that his loyalty to the Ming emperor trumped a son's piety to his father and refused to abandon Ming. For the ultimately failed attempt in convincing Koxinga to yield, 鄭芝龍, together with 11 members of his immediate family, were sentenced to death and murdered in 寧古塔 where they were imprisoned [note: 連橫 claimed in his 台灣通史 that the execution took place in Beijing Marketplace北京柴市 - this appeared a citation error].


This Nov 24, 1661, Qing royal order of Emperor 康熙 (1654-1722, reigned 1661/2 - 1722) recorded the death sentence of 鄭芝龍, his two sons 鄭世恩 and 鄭世蔭, and family. At the same time, 鄭芝豹 (鄭芝龍's brother) and his sons, who had surrendered to the Qing before the Koxinga revolt, were spared.

Earlier on May 17, 1657, Emperor 順治 (1638-1661, reigned 1644-1661) had decreed that, instead of an immediate execution, 鄭芝龍 and family members be banished to and imprisoned in 寧古塔 (near present-day 黑龍江省牡丹江市). In addition, all family properties and holdings were to be confiscated. They were forced to travel on foot in yokes and chains all the way from Beijing to the destination (a distance of ca 1,440 km). Reports showed that female members of the family suffered the most ("indescribable hardship"), probably because of their bound-feet. Accompanying 鄭芝龍 in the prison was also a Franciscan priest originally from Macau where 鄭芝龍 was baptized.

2013年12月28日 星期六

Cheng Family in Tamsui

This three-volume 淡水鎮志Tamsui Town History is in amazing detail, published in June, 2013, now available online [here]. It contains parts of the more recent Cheng Family history.

The biographies of EyeDoc's granduncle (鄭木筆, a physician who gained fame for curing a stomach ailment of the defender of Tamsui, General 孫開華, immediately after the Sino-French war) and second uncle (鄭嘉昌, principal of Wen-hua and Tamsui elementary schools) appear on pp 306 and 304 in Vol 3, respectively.

Members of EyeDoc's paternal grandmother side of family, 忠寮李家, are mentioned in quite a number of places, and the most recent entry, engineer turned Tamsui landscape artist 李永沱. Most important is the record of arrival in Tamsui, from 福建同安, of the first 李 generation in 1751.

An old group photo, class of 1937/8 of 淡水女子公學校Tamsui Girls Elementary School from this blog [here] is quoted on p 300 in Vol 2.

The Cheng family of Tamsui, belonging to 蓮宅鄭 [The Cheng House of Lotus], was originally from 泉州南安石井 later re-settled in 同安. This branch descends from one of the survivors of the 1661 Qing Imperial edict of 誅三族, which was to execute not only 鄭芝龍 [鄭成功Koxinga's father, who had surrendered, after ignoring Koxinga's plea for him not to, to the Qing in 1646], but also three generations of the Cheng Clan including 鄭芝龍's parents, brothers and sons and their wives. Only his principal wife Lady 顏Yan and a brother 鄭芝豹 were spared. His grandchildren, fortunately, were left untouched.

Cheng Family record listing 鄭芝龍's sons, daughters-in-law, and grandsons;
鄭成功 is identified by his given names, 森 and 大木.

In the 1930s, 鄭木筆, better known in Tamsui as 木筆先Master Vo-Bi, had returned to 泉州 to pay respects to Cheng ancestors whose grave sites could only be located by landmarks because of previous destruction of the tombs by the Qing - a way of punishing Koxinga, in addition to killing his father and brothers, for his refusal to yield.

After the fall of Tung-Ning Kingdom東寧王朝 in 1683, Koxinga's direct descendants were held hostage in Beijing, pressed into military service, forbidden to return to their hometown in 泉州 where all their properties were already confiscated. Other surviving branches of the Cheng Clan continued on in Hokkien; one, as noted above, had moved to Tamsui, now into the 8th generation since the arrival.

2013年12月21日 星期六

Re-dedication of Baron Su Temple

The main altar

This year marks the arrival of the original Baron Su in Tamsui, from Hokkien, 318 years ago. The temple, 淡水忠義宮蘇府王爺廟, after extensive renovation, was re-dedicated yesterday complete with an elaborate Taoist ceremony.

Front entrance - the wooden plaque above the central gate was relocated from interior of the temple
Baron Su Nos 1, 2, and 3, originally only No 1
The Black Ship on which lost souls sailed back to China

Baron Su was the guardian deity, not only for Tamshui-lang but also for 淮軍 commanded by General 章高元. The latter fought French fusiliers marins in the Battle of Fisherman's Wharf in Tamsui during the Sino-French War in 1884. They had stationed in the nearby Hobè Fort and come to the temple to pray.

Local legend has it that Baron Su had sent divine soldiers to help defeat the French. The story is recorded in the panel above the central gate:

To the left on the ship were the French invaders, to the right is 章高元 and his army, and above the cloud is Baron Su and his divine soldiers

People of Tamsui have never forgotten the bravery and the sacrifice of soldiers from China, 湘軍 led by General 孫開華 and 淮軍 by 章高元. And our condolences to the families of the worthy French opponents who died fighting under the command of Adm Sébastien Lespès.

Photo credits: here (12/20/2013)
The original post on the history of this temple can be seen here

2013年11月16日 星期六

Tansui Kai 淡水會 2013

Those children who were repatriated to Japan in March 1946 returned to visit their hometown, Tamsui, on Nov 14, 2013. District Director Dr Tsai Yeh-Wei presented members of Tansui Kai with certificates of honorary citizenship and the newly published 3-volume Tamsui Township History淡水鎮志 as gifts.

These children were often discriminated against, referred to as "灣生" in the post-war Japan. The struggle to start a new life at that time is now beginning to be known, and some stories re-told in part in a new book "路" by 吉田修一. Many children have since come back to find their roots in Taiwan.

Wherever they maybe, Tamsui will always welcome her children back, every single one, with open arms.

For more, see here and here